IHS HP/DP & IHS CSC: Understanding the Relationship Between Obesity and Cancer

Presented by Indian Health Service Health Promotion/Disease Prevention and IHS Clinical Support Center (Accredited Provider)

Title: Understanding the Relationship Between Obesity and Cancer

Date: Thursday, October 21, 2021

Time:
3:00 pm EDT
2:00 pm CDT
1:00 pm MDT
12:00 pm PDT & Arizona
11:00 am Alaska

Presenters:

Susan Czajkowski, PhD
Chief Health Behaviors Research Branch, NCI

Linda Nebeling, PhD, MPH, RD, FADA
Deputy Associate Director, DCCPS, NCI, NIH

Link to attend:  https://ihs.cosocloud.com/rnbfqxw341ha/

                                No registration required.

Target Audience: Nurses, Nurse Practitioners, Social Workers, Registered Dietitians, and other members of the healthcare and public health team

Description: This presentation will discuss the prevalence of obesity in the U.S. and in various population subgroups, including American Indian/Alaska Native populations. The relationship of obesity to cancer incidence and outcomes; biological mechanisms that are thought to be responsible for the obesity-cancer relationship; and efforts by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) to better understand the obesity and cancer relationship and develop more effective interventions for obesity to prevent cancer and reduce its adverse outcomes.

Learning Objectives/Outcomes: As a result of completing this training, the healthcare team will be able to:

  1. Examine the relationship of obesity to cancer, including the types of cancer that are linked to obesity and apparent mechanisms linking obesity to cancer.
  2. Recognize obesity prevalence in the U.S. generally and in various population subgroups including American Indian/Alaska Native.
  3. Summarize research and related activities being undertaken by the NCI in the area of obesity and cancer.

Full details in flyer below.

 

×

Upcoming Events

Attending any of these upcoming events? Have other events to share? Let us know! Email us at NNN@ITCMI.ORG to share your event information or to get on our list serve for event updates.

 

Indigenous Cancer Prevention Webinar Series:  Salish Cancer Center of The Puyallup Tribe of Indians | LEARN MORE

Breast Cancer Awareness Month | LEARN MORE

Part 3:  Lung Cancer Disparities:  Addressing Gaps and Opportunities to Improve Health Outcomes and Health Equity Among Low-Income Populations | LEARN MORE AND REGISTER

Cancer Prevention in Indigenous Communities:  Screening to Follow Up | LEARN MORE AND REGISTER

Indigenous Cancer Prevention Webinar Series:  Reclaiming our Tobacco through Tobacco Policy Passing of the Navajo Nitch' Éí Bee Ííná -- Air is Life Act of 2021 | LEARN MORE AND REGISTER

Native American Heritage Month | LEARN MORE